HentHighSchool Development Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

collapse
* Recent Posts
Re: [HHS+ 1.9.5] Official Bug Report Thread by Shilo
[Yesterday at 07:42:57 pm]


Re: [Mod] King's Way 2.0 by Spellsword
[Yesterday at 05:21:58 pm]


Re: [Mod] King's Way 2.0 by vadi92
[Yesterday at 04:13:53 pm]


Re: [Mod] Grafitti and interrogation (function) by fateavernicus
[Yesterday at 02:05:31 pm]


Finished the events/game/entire town enslaved by you! by fateavernicus
[Yesterday at 02:00:29 pm]


Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie question about an error  (Read 1244 times)

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Newbie question about an error
« on: January 22, 2021, 04:02:46 pm »

Hi, I'm a newbie in modding and programation in general trying to learn a bit more about it. I've tried to add a new house in the game for a new special character. Each time I try to hypnotize that character, I get a bug catcher stating "GetPersonHome:Error. Unknown character passed." Any ideas what could be causing this?
Logged

Umgah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2021, 09:28:57 pm »

Any chance that you have used non-Latin symbols in texts or event properties?
Logged

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2021, 09:35:09 pm »

My computer is set to japanese unilocales for rpg maker games. Could that be it?
Logged

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2021, 09:41:49 pm »

I'm playing the latest version of the game with no mods except my own tries. All I did for now is adding a location in the exhibition club chain and changing some images, nothing else before trying to add that house ans special character.
Logged

PhantomBull

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2021, 10:41:47 pm »

What do the paths of your system look like? I don't know if it can work with separators other than \ and I think the japanese use ¥ as path separator
Logged

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2021, 10:47:42 pm »

That's right I've got yen signs instead of \ but that's the case for any paths I've got so if it was an issue I would get it on any character not just that one.
Logged

PhantomBull

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2021, 11:09:09 pm »

How did you create the house and the Special Character?
Logged

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2021, 12:29:43 am »

For the house, I tried 2 methods to see if that would solve the problem. method 1 : added manually the relevants folder before opening the world editor and adding the different rooms directly. method 2 : duplicated an existing house before correcting the pathways like i wanted them. For the character i've just worked with the file editor.
Logged

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2021, 12:35:58 am »

Just thought of something, could that unknown character passed be the UID( currently 0)?
Logged

PhantomBull

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2021, 12:47:47 am »

For the house, I tried 2 methods to see if that would solve the problem. method 1 : added manually the relevants folder before opening the world editor and adding the different rooms directly. method 2 : duplicated an existing house before correcting the pathways like i wanted them. For the character i've just worked with the file editor.
Ok, a few possible places where the problem can be:
  • Did you make sure that the name of the location (in the Name field) is unique? Names can't be repeated, if you want more than one location with the same name set name to something unique and use the Display Name field for the name you want it to have
  • When setting the Location Event Path did you use \ as the path separator? As I said earlier if you use ¥ it might break and I don't know what it would choose the Find button in your case
  • When creating the character did you remember setting the intBedroom and intHome to the name of the location? I don't think that's the problem, but it won't work as expected if you don't

Just thought of something, could that unknown character passed be the UID( currently 0)?
The UID of the character is ignored unless it is loading a file, so no problem with that ;)
Logged

Umgah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2021, 12:58:47 am »

Herensuge, can you upload files of your mod somewhere so we can check if there any broken content?
Logged

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2021, 01:05:49 am »

I'll try to upload them, have to find where first. the name fields are all different. I'm trying to go back to normal unicodes to get rid of the yen signs but i doubt that's the issue since all the \ have been automatically converted to those and the rest works fine. as for the IntRoom and BedRoom they have set correctly, I'm taken to the right place if i chose take you to their place option.
Logged

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2021, 01:24:44 am »

I think that's all the relevant files. Let me know if I forgot something.
Logged

PhantomBull

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2021, 02:07:53 am »

Everything looks fine for me, so I'm out of ideas and I can't test if I can replicate the problem because I only have 1.10 available on this computer and I won't have a good internet connection available until Monday. Sorry for not being able to help you more right now... :(
Logged

Herensuge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie question about an error
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2021, 02:29:19 am »

At least, it's reassuring that it's not something standing out in plain sight. Thanks for trying, don't worry too much about it. If nothing else works, I can still put her in a general house, that works without any bug catcher that way. I was only trying to make that house so she can have a custom outfit when home so nothing major.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal