HentHighSchool Development Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

collapse
* Recent Posts
Re: Girl Pack Spreadsheet Log Revival by DougTheC
[Today at 02:56:11 am]


Re: Test version for 0.2 by Jman
[Today at 01:47:57 am]


Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Bugs by barteke22
[Today at 01:35:08 am]


Re: Test version for 0.2 by Netscape
[Today at 12:14:55 am]


Re: Test version for 0.2 by Jman
[Yesterday at 05:56:51 pm]


Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 20   Go Down

Author Topic: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback  (Read 47241 times)

nuetron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #60 on: October 11, 2021, 09:53:34 pm »

I have "Interview Students" policy enabled and every time I try to reject the student during the interview, they remain on the list.  This causes the interview count to keep counting up since the student does not disappear from the interview list.
Logged

Umgah

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 265
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #61 on: October 11, 2021, 10:27:25 pm »

I have "Interview Students" policy enabled and every time I try to reject the student during the interview, they remain on the list.
I have same issue.
Logged

Shilo

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2287
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #62 on: October 11, 2021, 11:47:49 pm »

Thanks, that's some good intel.
Hmm, its not easy to pin it down.
I feel these two in particular seems to get worse each time they happen. Possibly pooling/cache related?
This is beyond my knowledge tho, so im likely speaking nosense.

The games using fuck all of system resources, especially during one of these lockups.
Game seems to stay under 500MB of ram and sub 1% cpu. Cpu drops to 0 during a lockup, making me think its memory related.

Heres 2 more errors i had while playing about just now thinking:
(click to show/hide)

Probbaly not usefull or the same but throught id share them anyway.

How many CPU cores do you have? It seems the .NET thread pool is setting the minimum number of threads in the pool to the number of CPU cores by default. Which might be why it's more likely to occur for some players than others. (I have 12 physical and 24 logical cores, which might be a reason why I've pretty much never seen the issue manifest)
If there are more active tasks than available workers, it will add new workers to the queue at a rate of 2 per second. So depending on the starting amount and the pending work, it might take a while to spin up enough threads when a whole burst of new works is submitted.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2021, 11:50:23 pm by Shilo »
Logged

barteke22

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1076
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #63 on: October 11, 2021, 11:55:57 pm »

Is it a bug (maybe even on my end only?) or a feature that you can no longer click an Op's variable in/out to make a new variable of that type in VEE?

I thought it was just something wrong with my internal build before, but the public one has the same issue. Like, I click the variable in/out and nothing happens, can attach a manually created/copied var just fine though.

DasBrain

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #64 on: October 11, 2021, 11:57:30 pm »

I have "Interview Students" policy enabled and every time I try to reject the student during the interview, they remain on the list.
I have same issue.
Not an issue. The candidates stay the same. After the weekend your secretary has a list with new candidates.
Is it a bug (maybe even on my end only?) or a feature that you can no longer click an Op's variable in/out to make a new variable of that type in VEE?

I thought it was just something wrong with my internal build before, but the public one has the same issue.
No, I did some changes in that area.
Use the middle mouse button.
Logged

barteke22

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1076
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #65 on: October 12, 2021, 12:03:41 am »

I have "Interview Students" policy enabled and every time I try to reject the student during the interview, they remain on the list.
I have same issue.
Not an issue. The candidates stay the same. After the weekend your secretary has a list with new candidates.
Is it a bug (maybe even on my end only?) or a feature that you can no longer click an Op's variable in/out to make a new variable of that type in VEE?

I thought it was just something wrong with my internal build before, but the public one has the same issue.
No, I did some changes in that area.
Use the middle mouse button.

Oh, rite xD I usually use the touchpad since it's more convenient for general movement.

b00marrows

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #66 on: October 12, 2021, 12:09:41 am »

How many CPU cores do you have?
4 cores.

Hmm, This system is running a Ryzen 5 3400G, 4c/8t, 4.1ghz OC
Don't know if that might be useful in the future, but there ya go.

Another small note that might be usefull:
Looking at Resource monitor the game start with around 30-40 threads and gradually increases the count, quickly reaching 80+.
Do you think some threads are being needlessly created and idled to only cause issues when later called?
I'm now at over 120 threads and all i have done is repeated the same action multiple times.
If i was to guess, on each reload there's 5~10 additional threads. The growth doesn't seem to be slowing.

EDIT: further testing shows that each "lockup" creates ~5 new threads each time. Now counting at 340 threads.
Also noting a slow increase in ram usage, currently 720MB. Not a lot but something aint right.
EDIT2: 535 threads now, don't seem to be stopping. Ram is ok tho, goes no higher than 730MB before going back down.
Thats all for now.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2021, 12:48:28 am by b00marrows »
Logged

Umgah

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 265
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #67 on: October 12, 2021, 12:48:31 am »

How many CPU cores do you have? It seems the .NET thread pool is setting the minimum number of threads in the pool to the number of CPU cores by default. Which might be why it's more likely to occur for some players than others. (I have 12 physical and 24 logical cores, which might be a reason why I've pretty much never seen the issue manifest)
If there are more active tasks than available workers, it will add new workers to the queue at a rate of 2 per second. So depending on the starting amount and the pending work, it might take a while to spin up enough threads when a whole burst of new works is submitted.
It's a bit strange approach. It's kind of guarantied to start slowly if there too much IO-related tasks initially. And at the same time it kind of promotes thread contention and resource starvation if there are too many CPU-bound tasks.

I suggest to put hard cap on the maximum number of threads. Something like 8x of CPU core count. I think creation of even more threads than this usually will reduce overall performance. Unless there some logic in the app code that expects that it always can get a spare thread if it waits long enough (even if all other threads in dead-lock or live-lock state).

Btw, do you preserve thread pool size on game load?
« Last Edit: October 12, 2021, 12:54:34 am by Umgah »
Logged

Redon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #68 on: October 12, 2021, 03:19:29 am »

Just wanted to pop in and say that the SP 1 that says it has all the old fixes, is missing the item fixes for dildos and the deluxe onahole (which btw, is missing regular onaholes).

Also, the game has forgotten I know how to hack, so there is that. (but that's no big deal, because debug menu exists), wait no lockpicking is dead and doesn't seem to be repairable, yeah this run's done, oh well.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2021, 08:41:12 am by Redon »
Logged

NO2HANDS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #69 on: October 12, 2021, 08:36:08 am »

Sooo.... i just finished my first run of 1.10, over all I really enjoyed the run, it was a breath of fresh air seeing new images, events and characters in the game after such a long time. on to criticism i think there needs to be more clear instructions on initiating through out the run i saw characters with quest markers but had no idea on how the hell to start them, maybe it's just a bit of hoping but it would be nice just to have a standard event introduction with them that introduces them to the player then adds a entry in your journal telling you how to start their quest chain.

another thing I wanna ask is asking if it can be made easier to corrupt the town besides hail marying on Chemistry mad scientist events only for them to fail 95% of the time i got to basically bondage class wear with full maxed corrupted PTA with little to no dent in the wider community, i feel like once the club more or less opens there should start to be a passive corruption effect to the people entering it. (i don't understand the coding that well maybe it does). 

finally going back to the bondage uniforms i noticed alot of errors in regards to events and the uniform i didn't get the specific error but i'm sure if you just get the uniform and trigger a classroom event you'll see it like 9 out of 10 times

finally just wish the PTA decisions were tracked better so you knew where you were up too and how to possibly advanced cause man o man i couldn't for the life of me get the nude uniforms event to trigger.

final thoughts on the first run Respect is a hell of a slop and once you start slipping even a bit i feel like there's no way to stop also got the Cat event to finally complete so 9/10 best run yet
 
Logged

DasBrain

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #70 on: October 12, 2021, 01:01:31 pm »

Just wanted to pop in and say that the SP 1 that says it has all the old fixes, is missing the item fixes for dildos and the deluxe onahole (which btw, is missing regular onaholes).
Intentional - I updated the engine so Cum Inside is again optional. Or at least should be.

n I know how to hack, so there is that. (but that's no big deal, because debug menu exists), wait no lockpicking is dead and doesn't seem to be repairable, yeah this run's done, oh well.
Yeah, you may need to do similar things with lockpicking. And we should really use global variable skill > 1 to check if trained.
Logged

barteke22

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1076
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #71 on: October 12, 2021, 02:56:52 pm »

Did the way the custom ItemEvents are handled change?

I was previously using a modified Speedo as a custom item (so there'd be no need to do anything extra to make the mod work in existing games, as it only needs 1 item).

I edited all its fields, essentially making it a different item, and applied a custom ItemEvent to it, this all still works fine according to debug (the item has the correct event attached).

However the _ItemEvent.ve.xml doesn't seem to get recognised (I know it works fine, but the game doesn't attach it to the item). It works fine if I rename the event to Speedo_ItemEvent.ve.xml (which is what it would default to if it didn't find the custom one).

For now I guess I can make a fully new item, but I wonder what changed?

DasBrain

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #72 on: October 12, 2021, 03:04:46 pm »

Yeah, the event stuff got a rewrite.
Use the full path relative to "Events\", so try to use "ItemEvents\Wig_ItemEvent".
Logged

barteke22

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1076
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #73 on: October 12, 2021, 03:17:15 pm »

Thnx, that did the trick :)

Shilo

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2287
    • View Profile
Re: [HHS+ 1.10 Beta] Public Beta Discussion / Feedback
« Reply #74 on: October 12, 2021, 07:12:05 pm »

How many CPU cores do you have? It seems the .NET thread pool is setting the minimum number of threads in the pool to the number of CPU cores by default. Which might be why it's more likely to occur for some players than others. (I have 12 physical and 24 logical cores, which might be a reason why I've pretty much never seen the issue manifest)
If there are more active tasks than available workers, it will add new workers to the queue at a rate of 2 per second. So depending on the starting amount and the pending work, it might take a while to spin up enough threads when a whole burst of new works is submitted.
It's a bit strange approach. It's kind of guarantied to start slowly if there too much IO-related tasks initially. And at the same time it kind of promotes thread contention and resource starvation if there are too many CPU-bound tasks.

I suggest to put hard cap on the maximum number of threads. Something like 8x of CPU core count. I think creation of even more threads than this usually will reduce overall performance. Unless there some logic in the app code that expects that it always can get a spare thread if it waits long enough (even if all other threads in dead-lock or live-lock state).

Btw, do you preserve thread pool size on game load?

We are currently not controlling anything about the thread pool ourselves. It just uses the default parameters and growth algorithm. We simply submit new work to it via Task.Factory.StartNew().
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 20   Go Up
 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal