HentHighSchool Development Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

collapse
* Recent Posts
Re: Girl packs by Leortha
[Today at 02:49:48 am]


Re: [WIP][0.2]Girl Creation Tips by Aren117
[Today at 01:43:42 am]


Re: Tagging Tool 2.8 + TagSet Extended by _neronero
[Yesterday at 10:58:51 pm]


Re: Tagging Tool 2.8 + TagSet Extended by nemojason
[Yesterday at 10:48:25 pm]


Re: [WIP][0.2]Girl Creation Tips by Jman
[Yesterday at 10:32:39 pm]


Pages: 1 ... 72 73 [74] 75 76 ... 83   Go Down

Author Topic: Test version for 0.2  (Read 172989 times)

DougTheC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1153
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1095 on: January 21, 2021, 09:39:00 am »

Emily Willis slave clone, but has gold trait "Tight ass". Latest patch.

Only _BK.ini anomaly I can see is
generate_as = "Slave" should use lower-case "slave".

Forget it, _BK.ini does have Always trait:
always = ["Tight Ass"]
« Last Edit: January 21, 2021, 09:47:12 am by DougTheC, Reason: Forget it, _BK.ini does have Always trait: always = ["Tight Ass"] »
Logged
Advice from the radio: Wash your hands, often with soap and water.
                                   ---
My doctor put me on the Pro Plan® Bright Mind™ diet.

Herman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1096 on: January 22, 2021, 03:38:50 pm »

New bug. On the first visit from the banker (the one with no interest), the game crashes with the following traceback:
(click to show/hide)

This is from the latest code, downloaded yesterday from Goldo's signature.
Logged

Herman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1097 on: January 22, 2021, 09:50:58 pm »

Another bug, this time related to achievements.

While in chapter II, I have received the achievement for building all upgrades for chapter IV. How is that possible?
Logged

DougTheC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1153
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1098 on: January 23, 2021, 02:14:48 am »

New bug. On the first visit from the banker (the one with no interest), the game crashes with the following traceback:
(click to show/hide)

This is from the latest code, downloaded yesterday from Goldo's signature.

Was reported earlier; here's my suggested, somewhat-tested fix:

1/14 patch installed; new game.  When accepting the first (non-interest) loan from the banker:
Code: [Select]
I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.
...
  File "game/BKstory_events.rpy", line 14184, in <module>
    $ MC.loan.amount = -MC.gold + 250
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'amount'

I think what might work is the following, to set a non-daily-repayment loan. Will test.
Edit: Tests OK on establishing loan; existing loan amt displays include an unnecessary decimal point (like 313.0 gold received).
Edit: Included int() to avoid decimal in MC.loan.amount.

line 14184
Code: [Select]
change
        $ MC.loan.amount = -MC.gold + 250
to

#patch        $ MC.loan.amount = -MC.gold + 250
        $ MC.loan = Loan(int(-MC.gold + 250), 0, 500000)    # Effectively no daily repayment on first loan
Logged
Advice from the radio: Wash your hands, often with soap and water.
                                   ---
My doctor put me on the Pro Plan® Bright Mind™ diet.

DougTheC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1153
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1099 on: January 23, 2021, 02:42:41 am »

Another bug, this time related to achievements.

While in chapter II, I have received the achievement for building all upgrades for chapter IV. How is that possible?

Chapter 2 is always given without a roman numeral.

Since current WIP of game allows you to advance to new brothels before a final event for Chapter 2, perhaps this achievement should be retitled, "Build all upgrades for brothel %s.".

That would reflect a closer description of what is tracked (all room upgrades, etc.), though the numeral will refer to how many times the achievement is met, not your current brothel sequence number.

The check is included in both BKclasses and BKmain:
test_achievement("upgrades")

So don't know if issues would remain after rename.
Logged
Advice from the radio: Wash your hands, often with soap and water.
                                   ---
My doctor put me on the Pro Plan® Bright Mind™ diet.

Herman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1100 on: January 23, 2021, 01:07:33 pm »

Another bug, this time related to achievements.

While in chapter II, I have received the achievement for building all upgrades for chapter IV. How is that possible?
Since current WIP of game allows you to advance to new brothels before a final event for Chapter 2, perhaps this achievement should be retitled, "Build all upgrades for brothel %s.".

But I'm still in the brothel for chapter 2, I haven't advanced to chapter 4 or even 3 yet. My point is, what is tracked is probably not what should be tracked.
Logged

Leortha

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 825
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1101 on: January 23, 2021, 04:54:07 pm »

Another bug, this time related to achievements.

While in chapter II, I have received the achievement for building all upgrades for chapter IV. How is that possible?
Since current WIP of game allows you to advance to new brothels before a final event for Chapter 2, perhaps this achievement should be retitled, "Build all upgrades for brothel %s.".

But I'm still in the brothel for chapter 2, I haven't advanced to chapter 4 or even 3 yet. My point is, what is tracked is probably not what should be tracked.

I actually reported something very similar a couple of months back.  I forget if I was in chapter 1 or 2, but the game got into a state where, after I completed the set for the current chapter, every time I entered the Carpenter screen it would award me the one for the next chapter.  I went in and out and quickly had them all.

Goldo

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1417
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1102 on: January 25, 2021, 03:56:09 pm »

New patch is out, fixing previous bugs (link in sig).

Sorry, but I don't understand your idea. What are rewards limited to the gallery?
Some kind of sexy pictures that are unlocked by achievements and stay unlocked?

Well, there are currently almost 200 achievements, many of which can have up to 5 or 7 levels, so just finding that cheer number of pictures would be a crazy endeavor, not to mention make the game explode in size for little gameplay benefit. I just don't see how that would work.

Quote
This is how it works now, has been for a little while.
Cool. This applies to all loans now, or just the first one?

Only the first. My assumption was that the player wouldn't end up massively in the red without intentionally screwing up, and other chapters have more generous loan amounts, so I thought they would be sufficient. Perhaps that is contradicted by players' experience, but so far I only got complaints about the first chapter.



There is a bug I'd like to self-report, but don't know what I'm doing wrong:

During tax dialogue, [MC.name] will sometimes be written instead of the MC's actual name.

This is because I use this code snippet:
Code: [Select]
$ text1 = rand_choice(["Hello, [MC.name], remember me?"])

taxgirl "[text1!i]"

My understanding is that '!i' here should properly interpolate the [] brackets, based on this documentation, but it just doesn't happen (I've tried '!ti' as well, no luck).

Of course I could rewrite the text to work around this problem, but the lack of renpy interpolation of text variables with brackets has been a thorn in my side for a while, so I'd love it if I could get it to work. If you know Ren'py and have a suggestion, let me know.
Logged
Looking for the latest 0.2 patch? It's right here: (it will always be right here :))). !!!Do not use with 0.15!!!

Jman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1478
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1103 on: January 25, 2021, 06:39:12 pm »

Well, there are currently almost 200 achievements, many of which can have up to 5 or 7 levels, so just finding that cheer number of pictures would be a crazy endeavor, not to mention make the game explode in size for little gameplay benefit. I just don't see how that would work.
A passable picture can be had for 150-200kB. 7*200*200=280Mb. Could probably be cut down to 200Mb or even 100Mb if desired.

Picture 'cheer' is not too bad, either. Witness Leortha unwilling to even take a look at certain characters. I myself have a backlog of thousands of pictures in the 'look at, sort and maybe use' category. I have somewhat more hardcore tastes than suitable for vanilla, though.

Whether it would actually add much to the game... no idea. Personally, I consider the vast majority of (edit: all, not just BK-related) out-of-game achievements cancer. :P Come to think of it, in-game achievements aren't too hot either (says the guy who made a set of achievements and anti-achievements a few months ago :o ).

My assumption was that the player wouldn't end up massively in the red without intentionally screwing up, and other chapters have more generous loan amounts, so I thought they would be sufficient.
What prompted me to add this was the 'tax raid' mechanic, which could end up taking tens and hundreds of thousands gold (and that's Bonanza gold, which is 100 times 'bigger'  ;D ) from an unlucky player. Now that vanilla has taxes, something similar might start happening there as well, although perhaps without the sheer crazyness of the mod.

lack of renpy interpolation of text variables with brackets has been a thorn in my side for a while, so I'd love it if I could get it to work. If you know Ren'py and have a suggestion, let me know.
Don't use these goddamn brackets, they're evil. Maybe you can use Python string substitution instead? You know, this:
Code: [Select]
$ text1 = rand_choice(["Hello, %s, remember me?"%(MC.name)])

taxgirl "[text1]"

Edit: Why is this thing called 'interpolation', anyway? It's basically substitution or evaluation, pretty much the opposite of what I'd usually call interpolation, i.e. approximation through some sort of (usually convergent, in some specific sense) process.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2021, 04:41:03 am by Jman »
Logged
We’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.

AnalogSquirrel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1104 on: January 25, 2021, 10:01:06 pm »

Just applied the new patch.  This happened pretty soon after starting the new game.  I *think* it is at the point right after Gio visits after starting (it's been a while since I've had an error so close to the beginning  :) ), and wants to nail Sill... I think

Correction: it happens when entering the Brothel menu (using the 'b' button).

Because I'm lazy and don't like what I do for work, I did a little bit of digging into this. Because I have other play-throughs, many of my achievements already have levels; a lot of them maxed.

So, if my current achievement level is 5, then level+1 is 6, which is the value reported in the "KeyError".  Each achievement object will only have level records for available levels, so mine won't have requirements[6].  Update: I reset my achievements, and no longer get this error.

My Python-fu is weak, so this is more of a pseudo code, but it looks like what we want is
Code: [Select]
            if r >= self.requirements[self.level+1]:
                return self.unlock()

becoming something like
Code: [Select]
            if self.level < self.level.max and r >= self.requirements[self.level+1]:
                return self.unlock()
Like I said, my Python-fu is weak, and I don't know if it does short-circuit logic like that.  If not, then another level will be required, so you do reference from out of the array's range.


Code: [Select]
I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred. 

While running game code:
  File "game/BKmain.rpy", line 408, in script
    $ test_achievement("upgrades")
  File "game/BKmain.rpy", line 408, in <module>
    $ test_achievement("upgrades")
  File "game/BKachievements.rpy", line 245, in test_achievement
    test_achievements([target])
  File "game/BKachievements.rpy", line 238, in test_achievements
    if achievement_dict[target].test():
  File "game/BKclasses.rpy", line 6588, in test
    if r >= self.requirements[self.level+1]:
KeyError: 6

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
  File "game/BKmain.rpy", line 408, in script
    $ test_achievement("upgrades")
  File "/home/holemanj/Games/BK2/Brothel_King-pc/renpy/ast.py", line 914, in execute
    renpy.python.py_exec_bytecode(self.code.bytecode, self.hide, store=self.store)
  File "/home/holemanj/Games/BK2/Brothel_King-pc/renpy/python.py", line 2028, in py_exec_bytecode
    exec bytecode in globals, locals
  File "game/BKmain.rpy", line 408, in <module>
    $ test_achievement("upgrades")
  File "game/BKachievements.rpy", line 245, in test_achievement
    test_achievements([target])
  File "game/BKachievements.rpy", line 238, in test_achievements
    if achievement_dict[target].test():
  File "game/BKclasses.rpy", line 6588, in test
    if r >= self.requirements[self.level+1]:
KeyError: 6

Linux-5.10.0-1-amd64-x86_64-with-debian-bullseye-sid
Ren'Py 7.3.5.606
Brothel King 0.2 v250114
Mon Jan 25 13:06:10 2021
« Last Edit: January 25, 2021, 10:35:04 pm by AnalogSquirrel »
Logged

Rannath

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1105 on: January 25, 2021, 10:23:31 pm »

There is a bug I'd like to self-report, but don't know what I'm doing wrong:

During tax dialogue, [MC.name] will sometimes be written instead of the MC's actual name.

This is because I use this code snippet:
Code: [Select]
$ text1 = rand_choice(["Hello, [MC.name], remember me?"])

taxgirl "[text1!i]"

My understanding is that '!i' here should properly interpolate the [] brackets, based on this documentation, but it just doesn't happen (I've tried '!ti' as well, no luck).

Of course I could rewrite the text to work around this problem, but the lack of renpy interpolation of text variables with brackets has been a thorn in my side for a while, so I'd love it if I could get it to work. If you know Ren'py and have a suggestion, let me know.

My first wild guess is that this is GC issue. One thing to try is pulling the list above random:

$ options = ["Hello, [MC.name], remember me?"]
$ text1 = rand_choice(options)

taxgirl "[text1!i]"

Edit: Why is this thing called 'interpolation', anyway? It's basically substitution or evaluation, pretty much the opposite of what I'd usually call interpolation, i.e. approximation through some sort of (usually convergent, in some specific sense) process.
interpolation: the insertion of something of a different nature into something else.
Logged

Chris12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 575
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1106 on: January 26, 2021, 05:22:32 am »

Is it related to rand_choice, maybe? I remember BK functions sometimes returning lists or tuples where you didn't expect them. Otherwise, I see no reason why it should sometimes work and sometimes not.
Logged
Find my High-Quality Girl Packs (Belldandy, Urd, Rin Kaenbyou, Jessica Albert, Temari) at MEGA:
https://mega.nz/folder/LQgHxALS#i3Y4IwUzc2wlULRfp18mdw

Jman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1478
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1107 on: January 26, 2021, 05:31:20 am »

These brackets sometimes fail to work in the most innocuous of circumstances as well. I've just learned to avoid them and do either direct string concatenation or the "string %r"%(replacement) substitution.
Logged
We’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.

Herman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1108 on: January 26, 2021, 04:09:50 pm »

There's a typo in the latest code which blocks you from relocating your brothel.

You need to change somewhere close to line 540 of BKevents.rpy from:
Code: [Select]
show screen districts(contexth = "relocate")to
Code: [Select]
show screen districts(context = "relocate")
Logged

Goldo

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1417
    • View Profile
Re: Test version for 0.2
« Reply #1109 on: January 26, 2021, 04:19:01 pm »

Thank you guys for the feedback, I will release a hotfix tonight.

Edit: Hotfix released (see sig - should fix Herman's problem as well)
« Last Edit: January 27, 2021, 01:07:48 am by Goldo »
Logged
Looking for the latest 0.2 patch? It's right here: (it will always be right here :))). !!!Do not use with 0.15!!!
Pages: 1 ... 72 73 [74] 75 76 ... 83   Go Up
 


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal